# THE STATES assembled on Friday 12th December 2008, at 09.30 a.m. under the Presidency of the Bailiff, Sir Philip Bailhache.

All members were present at roll call with the exception of –

Senator Frederick Ellyer Cohen – en défaut (défaut raised at 9.38 a.m.) Deputy Sean Seamus Patrick Augustine Power of St. Brelade– excused

Prayers read by the Greffier of the States

### Minister for Education, Sport and Culture

Senator Paul Francis Routier was nominated by the Chief Minister designate.

The Deputy of St. Ouen was nominated by Senator Sarah Craig Ferguson.

Deputy Judith Ann Martin of St. Helier was nominated by Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier.

Deputy Roy George Le Hérissier of St. Saviour was nominated by the Connétable of St. Helier.

In accordance with Standing Order 117, each candidate made a speech and was questioned prior to a ballot being held.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a secret ballot, were informed of the following results by the Bailiff –

Senator Paul Francis Routier	16
The Deputy of St. Ouen	13
Deputy Roy George Le Hérissier of St. Saviour	12
Deputy Judith Ann Martin of St. Helier	11

In accordance with Standing Order 117(11) Deputy Judith Ann Martin of St. Helier, the candidate in receip of the lowest number of votes withdrew, and a second secret ballot was then held.

THE STATES were informed of the following results by the Bailiff –

Senator Paul Francis Routier	16
The Deputy of St. Ouen	16
Deputy Roy George Le Hérissier of St. Saviour	20

In accordance with Standing Order 117(12) a third secret ballot was held between Senator Paul Francis Routier and the Deputy of St. Ouen to determine which should go forward to the final ballot.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a secret ballot, were informed of the following results by the Bailiff –

Senator Paul Francis Routier	23
The Deputy of St. Ouen	29

In accordance with Standing Order 117(11) Senator Paul Francis Routier, the candidate in receipt of the lowest number of votes withdrew, and a fourth secret ballot was then held.

THE STATES were informed of the following results by the Bailiff –

The Bailiff accordingly declared that the Deputy of St. Ouen had been duly elected as the Minister for Education, Sport and Culture.

## Message of support to the people of Sark

The Bailiff, on behalf of all members, read out a message of support to the Seneschal of Sark following news of the closure of a number of businesses in the Island.

# **Change of Presidency**

The Bailiff retired from the Chamber during the ballot for the Minister for Education, Sport and Culture and the meeting continued under the Presidency of Mr. Michael Nelson de la Haye, the Greffier of the States.

### **Minister for Housing**

Senator Terence John Le Main was nominated by the Chief Minister designate. Senator Alan Breckon was nominated by the Deputy of Grouville.

In accordance with Standing Order 117, each candidate made a speech and was questioned prior to a ballot being held.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a secret ballot, were informed of the following results by the Bailiff –

Senator Terence John Le Main	27
Senator Alan Breckon	25

The Presiding Officer accordingly declared that Senator Terence John Le Main had been duly elected as the Minister for Housing.

## Appointment of the Chairman of the Privileges and Procedures Committee

The Connétable of St. Mary was nominated by the Deputy of Trinity. Senator Stuart Syvret was nominated by Senator Alan Breckon.

In accordance with Standing Order 118, each candidate made a speech and was questioned prior to a ballot being held.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a secret ballot, were informed of the following results by the Presiding Officer –

The Connétable of St.	Mary	32
Senator Stuart Syvret		19

There was one spoilt paper.

The Presiding Officer accordingly declared that the Connétable of St. Mary had been duly appointed as the Chairman of the Privileges and Procedures Committee.

### Appointment of the Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee

Senator Ben Edward Shenton was nominated by the Connétable of St. Lawrence. Senator Sarah Craig Ferguson was nominated by the Deputy of St. Ouen.

In accordance with Standing Order 119, each candidate made a speech and was questioned prior to a ballot being held.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a secret ballot, were informed of the following results by the Presiding Officer –

Senator Ben Edward Shenton 33 Senator Sarah Craig Ferguson 19

The Presiding Officer accordingly declared that Senator Ben Edward Shenton had been duly appointed as the Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee.

# Adjournment

THE STATES adjourned, having agreed to reconvene on Monday 15th December 2008 to continue the appointment of Members as Scrutiny Panel Chairmen.

THE STATES rose at 5.23 p.m.

M.N. DE LA HAYE

Greffier of the States